Skip Navigation Links

CoC Contacts at NIH and Other DHHS Agencies that Issue Certificates 

Below is a list of Certificate Coordinators at NIH and other DHHS agencies who can be contacted for additional information about Certificates of Confidentiality. 

At NIH, Certificates of Confidentiality are issued by individual NIH Institutes/Centers (ICs). If your research is funded by NIH, please direct your Certificate application to the funding IC.  If your research is health-related but is not federally funded and not under the FDA authority, the NIH IC that supports similar research can likely consider your request.  However, please verify this with the appropriate IC coordinator before submitting an application. If you are unsure about which IC is most appropriate for your research topic, you may contact the NIH Central Coordinator at NIH-COC-Coordinator@mail.nih.gov.

NIH uses an on-line application system for all CoC requests. Please follow the instructions on the CoC Kiosk Web site.

To request an amendment or extension to an existing NIH CoC, please send an email to the Coordinator at the IC that issued your Certificate explaining your need for an amendment or extension.

CoCs are also issued by several other DHHS agencies (CDC, FDA, HRSA, SAMHSA). If your research is funded by one of these agencies or is operating under the authority of the FDA, please go to the end of this list to find contact information for CoCs for these agencies.

CoC Contacts:

Central Resources for Certificates at NIH

Office Contact Information
Office of Extramural Research
For general questions about Certificates of Confidentiality, Certificates for non-NIH funded research, or NIH policies related to Certificates of Confidentiality:

Ann Hardy, DrPH 
NIH Office of Extramural Research
Email: NIH-CoC-Coordinator@mail.nih.gov
Office of the General Counsel, Public Health Division, NIH
For advice about possible legal challenges to existing Certificates of Confidentiality or other related legal issues:

Kate Tapley J.D.
DHHS Office of General Counsel
Public Health Division, NIH Branch
Email: Kate.Tapley@nih.gov

CoC Contacts:

Certificate Coordinators at NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs)

IC Contact Information
FIC
http://www.fic.nih.gov/
Barbara Sina, Ph.D.
Fogarty International Center
Phone: 301-402-9467
Email: sinab@mail.nih.gov
NCCIH
http://www.NCCIH.nih.gov
Anastasia Solis
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health
Phone: 301-594-8018
Email: nccihcoc@mail.nih.gov or anastasia.solis@nih.gov
NCI
http://www.nci.nih.gov/
Samson Adepoju
National Cancer Institute
Phone: 240-276-5660
Email: adepojus@mail.nih.gov
NCATS
http://www.ncats.nih.gov/
Elaine Collier, MD
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
Phone: 301-435-0794
E-mail: colliere@mail.nih.gov 
NEI
http://www.nei.nih.gov/
Ellen Liberman, Ph.D.
National Eye Institute
Phone: (301)451-2020
Email: Ellen.liberman@nih.gov

NHGRI
http://www.nhgri.nih.gov/

For scientific or programmatic policy questions regarding your application, please contact:

Laura Lyman Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Policy, Communications and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute
Phone: 301-594-7185
Email: Rodrigla@mail.nih.gov

For questions regarding the application process, for extensions of existing Certificates, or for status of a submitted application, please contact:

Sonya Jooma
National Human Genome Research Institute
Phone: (301) 594-6593
Email: sonya.jooma@nih.gov
NHLBI
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/index.htm
Donna Jones
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Phone: (301) 594-4734
Email: Jonesdc@mail.nih.gov
NIA
http://www.nia.nih.gov/
Robin A. Barr, Ph.D.
National Institute on Aging
Phone: 301-496-9322
Email: BarrR@nia.nih.gov
NIAAA
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/
Isabel Ellis, MSW
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Phone: 301-443-8771
Email: iellis@mail.nih.gov
NIAID
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Diane Adger-Johnson
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Phone: 240-669-2924
Email: NIAIDCertificates@mail.nih.gov
NIAMS
http://www.niams.nih.gov/
Leslie Littlejohn
National Institute for Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Phone: (301) 594-2545
Email: littlele@mail.nih.gov

Steven Austin
National Institute for Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Phone: 301-594-3504
E-mail: austins2@mail.nih.gov
NICHD
http://www.nichd.nih.gov/
Dennis Twombly, PhD
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Phone: 301-451-3371
Email: dtwombly@mail.nih.gov

Caroline Signore, MD
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Phone: 301.496.8363
Email: caroline.signore@nih.hhs.gov  
NIDA
http://www.nida.nih.gov/
For scientific questions regarding an application, please contact:

Hiromi Ono, PhD
NIDA Certificate Coordinator
(301) 402-6020
Email: Hiromi.ono@nih.gov

For application process and status questions, please contact:

Christina Page
NIDA Certificate Administrator
Email: NIDACertofConfident@mail.nih.gov
NIDCD
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/
Craig A. Jordan, Ph.D.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
Phone: 301-496-8693
Email: jordanc@nih.gov
NIDCR
http://www.nidcr.nih.gov/
Anna Nicholson, MSHS
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
Phone: 301-594-1852
Email: nicholsona@mail.nih.gov
NIDDK
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/
Theresa C. Smith
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Phone: 301-443-9908
Email: smiththe@mail.nih.gov
 
Terra L. Vinson, M.P.A
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Phone: 301-496-9488
Email: vinsont@niddk.nih.gov
NIEHS
http://www.niehs.nih.gov/
For scientific questions regarding your application, please contact:

Kimberly Gray, Ph.D.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Phone: 919-541-0293
Email: kg89o@nih.gov

For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:

Martha I. Barnes, MS
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Phone: 919-541-3336
Email: barnes@niehs.nih.gov
NIGMS
http://www.nigms.nih.gov/
Donna Krasnewich M.D., Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Phone: 301-594-0943
Email: dkras@nigms.nih.gov
 
or

Erica Brown, Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Phone: 301-594-4499
Email: Erica.Brown@nih.gov
NIMH
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
Eugene I. Kane III, M.P.H.
National Institute of Mental Health
Email: NIMHCoC@mail.nih.gov

For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:

Ira L. Tigner, Jr., MPH [C]
National Institute of Mental Health
Email: NIMHCoC@mail.nih.gov
NIMHD
http://www.nimhd.nih.gov/
Joyce A. Hunter, Ph.D.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Phone: 301-402-1366
Email: NIMHDCertificateofConfidentiality@mail.nih.gov
NINDS
http://www.ninds.nih.gov/
Maria Carolina Mendoza-Puccini, M.D.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke
Phone: 301-827-4007
Email: maria.mendoza-puccini@nih.gov
NINR
http://www.ninr.nih.gov/
For questions regarding the application process or status of a submitted application, please contact:

Donna Jones
CoC Coordinator
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Phone: (301) 594-4734
Email: Jonesdc@mail.nih.gov

For scientific questions regarding your application, please contact:

Marguerite Littleton Kearney, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
National Institute of Nursing Research
Phone: 301-402-7932/7889
Email: marguerite.kearney@.nih.gov
NLM
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/
Dr. Hua-Chuan Sim
National Library of Medicine
Phone: 301-594-4882
Email: simh@mail.nih.gov

or

Dr. Valerie Florance
National Library of Medicine
Phone: 301-496-4621
Email: florancev@nih.gov
Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center
http://www.cc.nih.gov/
Virginia Guptill, Ph.D.
NIH Clinical Center
Phone: 301-451-7608
Email: Virginia.guptill@nih.gov

or

Leslie Wehrlen, RN, MSN, OCN®
CDR, United States Public Health Service
Nurse Consultant
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center
Building 10, Rm 6C420
Phone: 301-451-4077
Email: lwehrlen@nih.gov 

CoC Contacts:

Contacts for Certificates at Other DHHS Agencies

Agency Contact Information
CDC
http://www.cdc.gov
Address: 
Office of Scientific Integrity
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA 30333 
Phone:
404-639-7570
FDA
http://www.fda.gov
For all investigational new drug products associated with an IND:

Sherry George, Program Analyst
Food and Drug Administration
Division of Safety Compliance - Human Subjects Protection Branch
Address:
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
White Oak, Building 51, Room 5331
Silver Spring, MD 20993
Phone:
301-796-3403 - Direct line
Main Line:
301-796-3150
Fax:
301-847-8748
Email:
sherry.george@fda.hhs.gov
Dennis Cato, Consumer Safety Officer
FDA/CBER/Office of Compliance and Biologics Quality
Address:
10903 New Hampshire Avenue,
Building 71, Room 5136
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Phone:
240-402-8906 or 240-402-8975
Email:
dennis.cato@fda.hhs.gov or CBERBIMONotification@fda.hhs.gov
Soma Kalb, Director, IDE Program
FDA/CDRH/Office of Device Evaluation
Address:
10903 New Hampshire Avenue,
Building 66, Room 1534
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Phone:
301-796-6359
Email:
Soma.Kalb@fda.hhs.gov
HRSA
http://www.hrsa.gov
Lisa Wright-Solomon
Office of Planning, Analysis, and Evaluation
Health Resources and Services Administration
Address
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 14N-39
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone:
301-443-1984
Email:
lwright-solomon@hrsa.gov
SAMHSA
http://www.samhsa.gov/Grants
Summer King, Statistician
CBHSQ/DEASR
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Address
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 2-1057
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone:
240-276-1243
Email:
summer.king@samhsa.hhs.gov
Back to Top